Looking for the perfect gift? Shop the Christmas Gift Guide Now.

Search Site

Holy Bible: Evangelical Heritage Version (EHV)

New Testament and Psalms

OL-0105001
8 Review(s)
  • Buy 10 for $13.49 each and save 10%
  • Buy 50 for $11.99 each and save 20%
  • Buy 100 for $10.49 each and save 30%

Availability: In Stock

$14.99

Customer Reviews

8 Item(s)

per page
Very good so far Review by Steve

I am not quick to sign on for something like this, but have been reviewing this new translation through the lectionary readings for about a year and am impressed. It is faithful to the original languages, seems to be at a similar reading grade level to the NIV 1984 edition my congregation was accustomed to using (and which is a good level for many of my confirmation students). I much prefer it to the archaic, more difficult ESV version that Concordia Publishing House has unfortunately pushed.

One of my favorite things, especially for use in the church, is the way it has transliterated rather than translated the New Testament "Amen" verses (NIV often says something like "I tell you the truth"). God inspired the writers of the Greek New Testament to keep using this Hebrew/Aramaic word. It wasn't unfamiliar for their first readers and isn't today. Especially any student of Luther's Small Catechism should be able to appreciate and understand it.

I have been a little troubled by a couple of translation choices but agreed with most where it differs from the NIV I've become familiar with over the last 20 years.

(Posted on 1/30/2018)

Solid, clear and faithful. Review by Paul

It reads about like the NIV, yet it has an accuracy that surpasses the ESV. It is in a dignified English style without being too stiff or too common.

(Posted on 12/15/2017)

Accurate AND flowing Review by Timothy

I am so enjoying this translation! How can a Bible read so easily, and still be so faithful? By paying attention to the details--particularly verb tenses and preposition use in the Greek. I love how progressive Greek verbs are translated as progressive English verbs, especially knowing that's exactly what the original language conveys. I also enjoy that I can tell, for example, when DIA + Accustive case is used, just by looking at the English.
I find it amazing that the EHV is fresh, and yet echoes the KJV I grew up with in certain cases. The text just flows, and I agree with so many of the translation choices that were made. I look forward to the day the Old Testament is also published! I've purchased both the Kindle version and the print version. (In fact I bought 10 of the print copies and they were snapped up by others who are also enjoying them greatly!)

(Posted on 9/2/2017)

Easy to understand Review by Kathy or Robert

Some of the passages, such as John 3:16 and Luke 11:28 are the same or very much like when I was raised with the KJV.
It is very easy to read. My grandfather, who is in heaven right now, would have loved this translation of the New Testament and Psalms.
I am enjoying reading this as my daily Bible reading schedule. Looking forward to the completed Bible coming out. Kathy Hering

(Posted on 8/1/2017)

Finally! Review by John

The EHV is the Bible translation that I have been waiting for ever since the day I read The Living Bible for the first time.
Finally a modern English translation that I can recommend to everyone because of it's simplicity and power and reliability.
It doesn't have the bias against the Textus Receptus that is so common these days.
Also they are using the Masoretic text of the Old Testament - the same one that the KJV and NKJV use. I'm looking forward to the day when the entire EHV Bible is completed. Although just the New Testament and Psalms are out now, this is a modern English translation worth waiting for and buying both now and when it is completed.
Get the New Testament and Psalms and read it for yourself.
I praise God that I'm finally getting a Bible that I can recommend to everyone!

(Posted on 7/27/2017)

A Terrific Resource Review by Brent Halldorson

I have been keeping tabs on the Wartburg Project now for some time and am very excited to have this first release of the EHV, even if it is not 100% complete.

When I read the EHV it is like rediscovering scripture. I toggle back and forth with my 1984 NIV but I find that the EHV gives a much more readable and sound translation. I have found myself reading familiar sections and coming away with a new appreciation of the scripture meaning - it is very exciting.

Congratulations to everyone involved and thank you for the hard work. God bless all of you and I look forward to the completed EHV.

(Posted on 7/25/2017)

EHV Translation Review by Larry

Last Friday, July 14, I was at NPH and purchased The Evangelical Heritage Version ( New Testament and Psalms).  The EHV is an excellent translation and I believe the best translation around.  I can hardly put it down.  I have read selected books and specific chapters.  I have started reading it from the beginning with the intent of reading it in its entirety.  It is a joy to read, very comforting in its familiar, descriptive expressions and clearly faithful to the original  Greek and Hebrew.  

Just to give a couple examples.  Psalm 46:10 "Be still" (the new Holman Bible which I purchased at NPH a few months ago) translates "stop fighting" - which is neither familiar nor true to the original.  Another example I appreciated is John 14:2 "mansions" is familiar and closer to the original than "rooms".  There are many others.

I want to thank all who worked so diligently and faithfully on this project.  It is a major undertaking, much needed and much appreciated.

I pray it will receive wide distribution and acceptance not only in our Synod, but throughout the Christian world and through the power of the Holy Spirit bring those who do not know Jesus as their Savior to believe in him.  The Lord continue to bless this important work.
Larry Ellenberger

(Posted on 7/20/2017)

Trustworthy and Easy to Understand Review by Micah

This is a translation I can recommend to anyone without qualification. That might sound like no big deal, but to me it's exciting. Most of the time, I have to qualify a recommendation with "but it's not always easy to understand" or "I wouldn't recommend that for a new Christian" or "it's usually good, but sometimes it paraphrases too much" or or or... But I have yet to see a reason to not recommend the EHV or give my recommendation some kind of qualification.

The EHV is both trustworthy and easy to understand. The translators and editors have done a good job of conveying both sense and meaning in a understandable way.
The EHV is good for personal reading. It's easy to read, without getting too simplistic, and the frequent subheadings also make it easy to put down and pick up again.
The EHV is good for the lectionary. It reads very well and very few words need explaining from the pulpit or in a footnote.
The EHV would be good for catechesis. This claim is a little bold since the EHV has not stood the test of time, but because it is both trustworthy and phrased well in English, it should be both memorable and worth remembering.
The EHV should be easy to love. It neither avoids nor depends on the Tyndale-KJV tradition, and so while it's new, it's also familiar.

The EHV is not denominationally biased. At least so far, I haven't noticed any kind of "convenient" translating or troubling pattern, and there are no denominationally biased footnotes that I have come across.
If I had a complaint, I'd say only that it's not finished. :) I eagerly look forward to the rest of the Old Testament, and the deuterocanonical books, should they ever get translated.
This translation is everything I hoped it would be, and so much more.

Micah Schmidt
LCMS Pastor

(Posted on 5/31/2017)

8 Item(s)

per page
Write Your Own Review

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register